Volunteer training

Recognized for its expertise in training, the DCC allows each candidate to specify his volunteer project. Throughout the stages of the recruitment and training process, the DCC invites the future volunteer to fully prepare himself/herself and to reinforce his/her intention to leave with the association.

The training path

The training of the DCC takes place in 3 phases to allow each candidate to mature his project :
– An intercultural session (weekend from Saturday morning to Sunday afternoon). The objective is to understand intercultural logics by reflecting on North-South relations, the meaning of development and the complexity of the intercultural encounter.
– An orientation session (weekend from Friday evening to Sunday afternoon). The objective is to build the volunteering project by discovering the volunteering proposal, the contexts and the types of missions proposed by the DCC.
– A preparation course for departure (10 days in January or July). The objective is to facilitate the personal, psychological, emotional, cultural, ecclesial and professional integration of volunteers. This course is only intended to the volunteers who have been assigned to a mission and are about to leave.

Be aware that the volunteers who wish to leave on a mission of solidarity follow only a 4 days preparation course for departure.

Consult the dates and locations of the 2017-2018 weekends and training courses (PDF).

Extensive and personalized training

At each stage of the training, each candidate is invited to think personally on his/her volunteer project and to define his/her expectations and motivations, both personal and professional or spiritual.

Workshops allow you to understand and discover :
– The complexity of the intercultural encounter in everyday life, at the work place and the need to adapt to a new environment.
– The role of the volunteer as a development actor in the 21st century by understanding and anticipating a different reality at all levels.
– The different aspects of the mission country (geopolitical, religious, cultural, social context…).
– Health and safety issues.

The entire training programme invites candidates to meet former volunteers and other candidates on departure. The aim is to compare and share with others the different experiences and questions that may emerge during the various sessions.

And back to France ?

The DCC accompaniment continues once the mission is over :
– With the return session (weekend from Friday evening to Sunday afternoon), each volunteer is invited to put words on his experience, to determine the outcome of the mission on a personal, professional and spiritual matter.
– Led by recruitment professionals, a whole workshop day is offered in order to facilitate the return to employment (on a Monday). It helps to enhance the value of volunteering experience in the context of job seeking in France or abroad.

Back in their home region or in a new region, volunteers can then join the DCC network. Nearly 60 delegates in France are there to welcome the volunteers: they organize some meetings to help them develop their network, share about their experience and promote DCC volunteering.

Experienced trainers

All DCC trainings are provided by unpaid trainers who were former volunteers, by DCC employees and by specialized guest speakers (academics, professionals, members of NGO, partners, etc.).

The volunteers tell their experiences

L’échange est vraiment au cœur des formations DCC

Morgane, formatrice DCC

La DCC nous donne d’excellents supports de formation

Pascale, formatrice DCC

La démarche de volontariat ouvre plus grand le regard

Rodolphe, gestionnaire administratif et financier au Sénégal

Formation du volontaire

Reconnue pour son expertise dans la formation, la DCC permet à chaque candidat de préciser son projet de volontariat. À travers les étapes du parcours de recrutement et de formation, la DCC l’invite à se préparer de façon complète et à conforter son intention de partir avec l’association.

Le parcours de formation

La formation de la DCC se déroule en 3 phases pour permettre à chaque candidat de mûrir son projet :
– une session interculturelle (week-end du samedi matin au dimanche après-midi). L’objectif : comprendre les logiques interculturelles en réfléchissant aux relations Nord-Sud, au sens du développement et à la complexité de la rencontre interculturelle.
– une session d’orientation (week-end du vendredi soir au dimanche après-midi). L’objectif : construire son projet de volontariat en découvrant la proposition du volontariat, les contextes et les types de missions proposées par la DCC.
– un stage de préparation au départ (10 jours en janvier ou juillet). L’objectif : favoriser l’insertion personnelle, psychologique, affective, culturelle, ecclésiale et professionnelle des volontaires. Ce stage est destiné uniquement aux volontaires qui ont été affectés sur une mission et qui s’apprêtent à partir.

Attention : pour partir début 2018, il ne reste qu’une session interculturelle (25/26 novembre à Lille) et une session d’orientation (8/9/10 décembre à Orsay).

Les volontaires qui souhaitent partir en mission solidaire suivent uniquement un stage de préparation au départ (durée : 4 jours).

Consultez les dates et lieux des week-ends et stages de formation 2017-2018 (PDF).

Une formation approfondie et personnalisée

Lors de chaque étape de la formation, chaque candidat est invité à réfléchir personnellement sur son projet de volontariat ainsi qu’à définir ses attentes et ses motivations, tant au niveau personnel que professionnel ou spirituel.

Des ateliers permettent de comprendre et découvrir :
– la complexité de la rencontre interculturelle dans la vie quotidienne ou dans l’exercice de son métier et la nécessité de s’adapter
– son rôle en tant qu’acteur de développement au XXIème siècle en se projetant dans une réalité différente à tous les niveaux
– son pays de mission (contexte géopolitique, religieux, culturel, social…)
– les questions de santé et de sécurité.

L’ensemble du parcours de formation invite les candidats à rencontrer d’anciens volontaires et d’autres candidats au départ. L’objectif : confronter leurs expériences et questions à celles d’autres personnes.

Et au retour en France ?

L’accompagnement de la DCC se poursuit une fois que la mission est terminée :
– avec la session retour (week-end du vendredi soir au dimanche après-midi), chaque volontaire est invité à mettre des mots sur son expérience, à faire le bilan pour en tirer les fruits personnels, professionnels et spirituels ;
– animée par des professionnels du recrutement, une journée d’aide au retour à l’emploi (un lundi) vous est proposée. Elle aide à valoriser l’expérience de volontariat dans le cadre d’une recherche d’emploi en France ou à l’international.

De retour dans sa région d’origine ou installé dans une nouvelle région, le volontaire pourra ensuite rejoindre le réseau DCC. Près de 60 délégués en France sont là pour accueillir les volontaires : ils leur proposent des temps forts pour faire réseau, témoigner et promouvoir le volontariat DCC.

Des formateurs expérimentés

L’ensemble des formations de la DCC est assuré par des formateurs bénévoles anciens volontaires, par les salariés de la DCC et par des intervenants extérieurs spécialisés (universitaires, professionnels, membres d’ONG partenaires…).

Les volontaires vous racontent leur expérience

L’échange est vraiment au cœur des formations DCC

Morgane, formatrice DCC

La DCC nous donne d’excellents supports de formation

Pascale, formatrice DCC

La démarche de volontariat ouvre plus grand le regard

Rodolphe, gestionnaire administratif et financier au Sénégal